Professional Quality of Life Measure

The ProQol Measure In English and Non-English Translations
This is a March 21, 2012 Update

An updated version of the ProQOL 5 Self-Score measure is posted today. The changes are in the directions for how to self-score. Nothing on the measure changed. We provided additional text directions based on email comments we have received.

The ProQOL is the most commonly used measure of the negative and positive affects of helping others who experience suffering and trauma. The ProQOL has sub-scales for compassion satisfaction, burnout and compassion fatigue.

The measure has been in use since 1995. There have been several revisions. The ProQOL 5 is the current version.


We encourage people to use the ProQOL. The following permission is on the measure. If you would like further information about permissions, or would like to request specific permission, use the link above.

The ProQOL measure may be freely copied as long as (a) author is credited, (b) no changes are made other than those authorized below, and (c) it is not sold. You may substitute the appropriate target group for / [helper] / if that is not the best term. For example, if you are working with teachers, replace / [helper] /with teacher. Word changes may be made to any word in italicized square brackets to make the measure read more smoothly for a particular target group.

The ProQOL measure is available free. Many hours have been donated by researchers, teachers, clinicians and others around the world to keep the ProQOL free. We are happy to share with you and hope you will contribute to the worldwide effort to strengthen the ProQOL.

English Translations

The ProQOL 5 (English)

The ProQOL 5 Self-Score (English)

Non-English Translations

Currently we have available translations of the ProQOL IV or 5 in 26 languages.

Please note that some of these translations include outdated language about scoring -- basically, the "so your score equals" column. We recommend you rely on the scoring shown in the English self-score version.

We are delighted at the number of translations we are able to post. All of the translations come from the global ProQOL users. If you can contribute a translation, or improve one, please do contact us.

We know that there are more current and accurate translations being used but do not have copies. If you have a copy of a language not listed, or a more current copy, please share it with us so we can share it with others.

Please use these translations below as a basis for the translation to the ProQOL 5. The Comparison file above shows the changes from the IV to the 5. Most were very minor and updating the translation should be relatively easy. We would be pleased to post your revised/updated version. You can contact regarding submission on the Contact Us page.

  1. Arabic (ProQOL 5)
  2. Brazilian Portuguese (ProQOL IV)

  3. Chinese (ProQOL 5)

  4. Chinese - Simplified (ProQOL 5)

  5. Danish (ProQOL 5)
  6. Dutch (ProQOL 5)

  7. Farsi/Persian (ProQOL 5)

  8. Filipino (ProQOL 5)

  9. Finnish (ProQOL IV)

  10. French (ProQOL 5)

  11. German (ProQOL 5)
  12. Greek (ProQOL 5)

  13. Haitian Creole (ProQOL 5)
  14. Hebrew (ProQOL IV)

  15. Hungarian (ProQOL 5)
  16. Italian (ProQOL 5)

  17. Japanese (ProQOL IV)

  18. Khmer (ProQOL 5)

  19. Korean (ProQOL 5)

  20. Nepali (ProQOL5)
  21. Norwegian (ProQOL 5)

  22. Polish (ProQOL 5)

  23. Portuguese from Portugal (ProQOL 5)

  24. Russian (ProQOL 5)

  25. Slovak (ProQOL 5)

  26. Spanish (ProQOL IV)

  27. Swedish (ProQOL 5)

  28. Turkish (ProQOL IV)

If you would like to translate the ProQOL into a language that is not listed here, please contact us at the
Request Use Permission page. We are happy to work with you to translate the measure.

A Note on Older Versions of the ProQOL: Compassion Satisfaction and Fatigue Test

This page is for the most current version of the Professional Quality of Life Scales, the ProQOL. This revised version replaces the Compassion Satisfaction and Fatigue Test, the Compassion Fatigue Test and the Compassion Fatigue Self-Test. We no longer support these earlier versions of the ProQOL and strongly advise that it not be used due to the known psychometric problems.

Inevitably work is done with an older version or publications lag for years between data collection and publication.
The ProQOL has two solutions for dealing with these issues. Because the ProQOL 5 uses standardized scoring it is possible to compare the ProQOL III, ProQOL IV and ProQOL 5 data. While there are some differences between the versions of the scales, the subscales are not greatly different, only refined. The scales have always had good to very strong internal reliability which improves the chance that comparing across versions will be acceptable. This is particularly the Compassion Fatigue scale which has always had an alpha reliability between .84 and .90. When comparing data across the three versions the greatest risk is a loss of precision. The older versions had more statistical error associated with them than the IV or the 5 which has a very small standard error of the estimate.

Regardless of the version of the measure used. It is important to include in your writing that there newer versions and that the latest information can be found at This will help readers in the future know where to find the latest information on the scale.